Starting lineups confirmed ahead of Manchester City’s clash with RB Leipzig

Manchester City and RB Leipzig have announced their starting lineups ahead of tonight’s clash at the Etihad. The game presents Pep Guardiola’s side with the chance to win Group of G of the UEFA Champions League. The European champions only need a draw to ensure they progress to the knockout stage as group winners. City have already clinched qualification to the knockout stage following their 3-nil win over Young Boys on Matchday 4. Here are the starting lineups for tonights match.

Manchester City:

Pep Guardiola told the media in his pre-game press conference that he didn’t expect any of City’s injured players to return in time for tonight’s game. Kevin De Bruyne is a long-term absentee as he recovers from hamstring surgery. John Stones returned to the squad for last Saturday’s draw to Liverpool. Jack Grealish returned to training this week after missing the Liverpool clash due to illness. Mateo Kovacic also returned to training this week but Matheus Nunes is yet to return.

Manchester City have made 4 changes to the side that drew with Liverpool. In comes Stefan Ortega, Josko Gvardiol, Rico Lewis and Jack Grealish. Out goes Ederson, Nathan Ake, Jeremy Doku and Julian Alvarez.

Starting lineup: Stefan Ortega, Kyle Walker, Manuel Akanji, Ruben Dias, Josko Gvardiol, Rodri, Rico Lewis, Bernardo Silva, Jack Grealish, Phil Foden, Erling Haaland.

Substitutes: Ederson, Scott Carson, Kalvin Phillips, John Stones, Nathan Ake, Julian Alvarez, Oscar Bobb, Sergio Gomez, Jeremy Doku.

RB Leipzig:

Starting lineup: Blaswich, Simakan, Haidara, Forsberg, Seiwald, Klosterman, Openda, Simons, Raum, Lukeba, Schlager.

Substitutes: Gulasci, Lenz, Poulsen, Baumgartner, Carvalho, Sesko, Henrichs, Kampl.

Tags Bernardo Silva Ederson Erling Haaland Etihad Stadium European Champions Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku John Stones Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Kalvin Phillips Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Liverpool Manchester City Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Nathan Ake Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden RB Leipzig Rico Lewis Rodri Ruben Dias Scott Carson Sergio Gomez Stefan Ortega Treble winners UEFA Champions League