The starting lineups are in for Manchester City’s FA Cup semi-final against Chelsea

Manchester City and Chelsea have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of today’s FA Cup semi-final at Wembley. It’s another big game for Pep Guardiola’s squad as they are all at the business end of the season.

For Manchester City, they are aiming to complete a Premier League/FA Cup double. Following their UEFA Champions League quarter-final exit at the hands of Real Madrid, there is still plenty to play for Pep Guardiola’s side despite the chance for back to back trebles being ended. But given the intensity of Wednesday night’s clash with Carlo Ancelotti’s side, it will take a mighty effort from the FA Cup holders to book their place in this season’s FA Cup final.

But nothing is meant to come easy. It’s a road Pep Guardiola’s side knows well given their success in recent seasons. They must overcome Mauricio Pochettino’s side, who they have failed to beat in their previous two meetings this season. Chelsea will be up for today’s game given what’s at stake, and they do have the capability of posing Manchester City problems. It is imperative to City’s chances that the champions bounce back quickly from their disappointment they suffered on Wednesday night.

Here are the starting lineups ahead of today’s huge match at Wembley.

Manchester City

Pep Guardiola has made four changes to the starting lineup that valiantly fell to Real Madrid. In comes Stefan Ortega, Nathan Ake, John Stones and Julian Alvarez. Out goes Ederson, Josko Gvardiol, Ruben Dias and Erling Haaland.

Erling Haaland isn’t in the Manchester City squad after picking up a muscle injury on Wednesday evening. Pep Guardiola informed the media during his pre-game press conference of Haaland’s fresh injury concern.

Starting lineup: Stefan Ortega, Walker, Stones, Akanji, Ake, Rodri, Silva, De Bruyne, Foden, Grealish, Alvarez.

Substitutes: Ederson, Dias, Kovacic, Doku, Gomez, Gvardiol, Nunes, Bobb, Lewis.


Tags Bernardo Silva Chelsea Ederson Erling Haaland FA Cup FA Cup holders Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku John Stones Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Nathan Ake Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Real Madrid Rico Lewis Rodri Ruben Dias Sergio Gomez Stefan Ortega