Manchester City and Newcastle have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of today’s FA Cup tie

Manchester City and Newcastle United have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of today’s FA Cup quarter-final. The two sides will battle it out at the Etihad Stadium for a place a semi-final berth in this season’s FA Cup. Pep Guardiola’s side will be seeking to take another step forward in their defence of the trophy they famously claimed as the second piece of the treble they won last season.

The FA Cup holders will have to take on Eddie Howe’s side without Kevin De Bruyne and Ederson. Pep Guardiola told the media yesterday that the pair will miss today’s match due to injury. De Bruyne is currently nursing a groin issue, which will also force him out of next weeks internationals with Belgium. Ederson is out for around a month with a thigh injury he sustained against in the 1-all draw against Liverpool last weekend.

In positive news for the world champions, Jack Grealish has recovered from a groin injury. Pep Guardiola confirmed yesterday that the winger will be a part of today’s squad after recovering from the injury he sustained against Luton Town.

Here are the starting lineups ahead of today’s FA Cup quarter-final.

Manchester City

Pep Guardiola has made 5 changes to the team that drew with Liverpool last weekend. In comes Ruben Dias, Josko Gvardiol, Mateo Kovacic, Jeremy Doku, and Stefan Ortega. Out goes Kevin De Bruyne, Ederson, John Stones, Nathan Ake, and Julian Alvarez.

Jack Grealish makes his eagerly anticipated return via the bench.

Starters: Stefan Ortega, Walker, Ruben Dias, Akanji, Gvardiol, Rodri, Kovacic, Foden, Bernardo Silva, Doku, Haaland.

Substitutes: Carson, Stones, Ake, Grealish, Alvarez, Gomez, Nunes, Bobb, Lewis.

XI | Ortega Moreno, Walker (C), Akanji, Dias, Gvardiol, Rodrigo, Kovacic, Bernardo, Foden, Doku, Haaland

Newcastle United

Tags Bernardo Silva Eddie Howe Ederson Erling Haaland FA Cup Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku John Stones Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Nathan Ake Newcastle United Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Rodri Ruben Dias Sergio Gomez Stefan Ortega