The starting lineups are in for Manchester City’s clash with Bournemouth

Manchester City and Bournemouth have named their starting lineups ahead of today’s clash at the Vitality Stadium.

It is another crucial game in this season’s title race. With Pep Guardiola’s side sitting four points behind league leaders Liverpool but with a game in hand it’s another must win game for Manchester City.

But Bournemouth won’t just lay down at the Vitality Stadium and let Manchester City waltz to victory. Andoni Iraola’s side possess their own weapons especially up front. With Dominic Solanke enjoying a fine season with 14 goals so far this campaign the City defence will have to be at their best to counter the threat from Bournemouth.

Manchester City will have to face Bournemouth without Josko Gvardiol. The Croatian defender is both of the match due to an injury. Pep Guardiola did tell the media before today’s game that the Gvardiol is getting closer to a return.

Here are the two team’s starting lineups ahead of another crucial Premier League encounter for Manchester City.

Manchester City

Pep Guardiola has made three changes to the team that beat Brentford 1-nil. In comes Nathan Ake, Matheus Nunes and Mateo Kovacic. Kyle Walker, Oscar Bobb and Julian drop to the bench for the clash with the Cherries.

After speculation whether he would start or take his place on the bench Kevin De Bruyne takes his place amongst the City substitutes.

Another surprise is seeing Jack Grealish named on the bench. Given Guardiola’s update pre game it is unlikely he will take any part in today’s game.

Starters: Ederson, Akanji, Stones, Dias, Ake, Rodri, Nunes, Kovacic, Bernardo Silva, Foden, Haaland.

Substitutes: Stefan Ortega , Walker, Grealish, Doku, De Bruyne, Gomez, Bobb, Lewis.


Tags Andoni Iraola Bernardo Silva Bournemouth Ederson English Premier League Erling Haaland Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku John Stones Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Nathan Ake Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Rodri Ruben Dias Scott Carson Sergio Gomez Stefan Ortega Vitality Stadium