The starting lineups are in for Manchester City’s crunch Premier League match against Chelsea

Manchester City and Chelsea have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of today’s vital Premier League encounter. While Chelsea have been inconsistent this season they do have quality throughout their squad. For Manchester City, the game represents a chance to continue to keep the pressure on Liverpool and Arsenal in the title race.

Pep Guardiola’s side come into the game after 11 consecutive wins in all competitions. The Premier League champions are beginning to put together a run that resembles that of previous season’s title charges. They brushed aside FC Copenhagen 3-1 in midweek in a dominant display.

There is however some bad news on the injury front for Manchester City. Jack Grealish and Josko Gvardiol will both miss today’s match. Grealish picked up a groin injury against FC Copenhagen. He is reportedly set for 2-3 weeks on the sidelines. Gvardiol is out for a similar length of time with an ankle ligament injury Pep Guardiola revealed pre-game.

Mateo Kovacic and Sergio Gomez both returned to training this week and will take their place in the City squad.

Chelsea beat Crystal Palace 3-1 in their last fixture. They do however come into today’s game ravaged by injuries in their defence. How they cope with City’s galaxy of stars up front may go a long way in deciding the game.

Here are the starting lineups ahead of today’s pivotal match.

Manchester City

Pro Guardiola has made 3 changes to the team that beat FC Copenhagen 3-1. In comes Julian Alvarez, Jeremy Doku and Manuel Akanji. Out goes Jack Grealish due to injury with Bernardo Silva and John Stones taking up spots on the bench.

Starting lineup: Ederson, Walker (C), Akanji, Dias, Ake, Rodri, De Bruyne, Foden, Alvarez, Doku, Haaland.

Substitutes: Stefan Ortega, Stones, Kovacic, Bernardo, Gomez, Nunes, Bobb, Susoho, Lewis.


Tags Bernardo Silva Chelsea Ederson English Premier League Erling Haaland Jacob Wright Jeremy Doku John Stones Julian Alvarez Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Mauricio Pochettino Nathan Ake Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Rodri Ruben Dias Scott Carson Sergio Gomez Stefan Ortega