Manchester City and Brentford confirm their starting lineups ahead of tonight’s crunch match

Manchester City and Brentford have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of tonight’s crunch Premier League clash at the GTech Community Stadium.

For Pep Guardiola’s side, the game is a chance to close the gap at the top of the Premier League table. After Arsenal’s victory over Liverpool last night City can close to within two points of Liverpool with a victory. They would also have a game in hand on Jurgen Klopp’s team following tonight’s clash with Brentford.

On the injury front, Manchester City will have a full squad available for tonight’s match. Pep Guardiola revealed pre-game that Manuel Akanji is over the knee injury he suffered against Huddersfield Town. Erling Haaland returned off the bench in City’s win last week’s 3-1 win over Burnley. With a full squad available it will be a massive boost ahead of a busy month ahead for the treble winners.

The hosts come into tonight’s game off the back of a 3-2 loss against Tottenham in their last Premier League match. Thomas Frank’s side sits 15th in the Premier League table only 3 points above the relegation zone. They did however do the double over Manchester City last season.

Here are the starting lineups in what looms as a crunch match at both ends of the table.

Manchester City

Pep Guardiola has made four changes to the side that beat Burnley last time out. In comes Erling Haaland, Bernardo Silva, Kyle Walker and Ruben Dias. Out goes John Stones, Rico Lewis, Matheus Nunes and Jeremy Doku.

It will be Erling Haaland’s first start since early December in City’s 1-nil loss to Aston Villa.

Starters: Ederson, Walker (C), Dias, Ake, Gvardiol, Rodri, Bernardo Silva, De Bruyne, Alvarez, Foden, Haaland.

Substitutes:  Stefan Ortega, Stones, Kovacic, Grealish, Doku, Akanji, Nunes, Bobb, Lewis.


Tags Arsenal Bernardo Silva Brentford Ederson English Premier League Erling Haaland GTech Community Stadium Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku John Stones Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Jurgen Klopp Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Liverpool Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Nathan Ake Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Rico Lewis Rodri Ruben Dias Stefan Ortega Thomas Frank