One of Manchester City’s most important players finally gets the recognition he deserves

Ederson has finally gotten the recognition he deserves. There is no doubt that the goalkeeper is one of Manchester City’s most important players but often he doesn’t get the accolades he deserves.

With the way Pep Guardiola’s side plays the credit is usually reserved for players further up the pitch. But at the FIFA Best Awards overnight Ederson finally received the recognition his outstanding play and consistency has long warranted.

The City shot-stopper was a deserved winner of the Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper for 2023. He beat Real Madrid keeper Thibaut Courtois and Moroccan international Yassine Bounou for the crown. City’s number one keeper finished runner-up to Aston Villa keeper Emiliano Martinez for the Ballon d’Or Yashin Award. Ederson’s victory overnight was a fine reward for the Brazilian international and a moment he has long deserved.

Since arriving at Manchester City from Benfica in the summer of 2017 Ederson has established himself as one of City’s most important players. He has also cemented himself as one of the world’s premier goalkeepers. Throughout his time with the champions, he has been one of the most consistent performers for Pep Guardiola. His presence in goal provides a calming influence on the entire City side. His heroic performance in last season’s Champions League final win over Inter Milan has cemented his place in Manchester City history.

On top of his shot-stopping ability, Ederson is a crucial part of Pep Guardiola’s possession game. His passing ability is a valuable weapon for the world champions. At times he is an extra midfielder given his quality with the ball.

After such a decorated spell with the club, it was a fantastic moment to see Ederson finally get his moment. It has been long overdue for one of Manchester City’s most important players.

Tags Ballon d'Or Yashin Award Best FIFA Football Awards Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper Ederson Emiliano Martinez Inter Milan Manchester City Pep Guardiola Thibaut Courtois Treble winners Yassine Bounou