Starting lineups confirmed ahead of Manchester City’s FA Cup tie against Huddersfield Town

Manchester City and Huddersfield Town have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of today’s FA Cup third-round tie at the Etihad Stadium.

Pep Guardiola’s side will begin their defence of the FA Cup that they famously won last season with a 2-1 win over Manchester United in the final last season. The City manager spoke of the significance of the FA Cup pre-game and will be expecting his side to carry on their good recent form. The FA Cup holders have won their last four games in all competitions and will want to continue their winning run.

City’s squad may be depleted for today’s game. Bernardo Silva, Kalvin Phillips, Matheus Nunes and Scott Carson have all been struck down with illness this week.

John Stones will miss today’s game due to an ankle injury he suffered against Everton. Rodri has taken his place in the City squad despite the passing of his grandmother during the week.

Huddersfield Town will be keen to give a good account of themselves and will be hoping they can cause an FA Cup boilover for the ages.

Here are the two teams starting lineups ahead of kick-off.

Manchester City

Pep Guardiola has made 5 changes to the side that beat Sheffield United last weekend. In comes Stefan Ortega, Ruben Dias, Sergio Gomez, Rico Lewis and Oscar Bobb. Out goes Bernardo Silva, Ederson, Nathan Ake, Kyle Walker and Rodri.

Kevin De Bruyne takes his place on the bench as he builds his way back up to full fitness after hamstring surgery. Jeremy Doku returns to the squad as a substitute for the first time since City’s 3-3 all-draw with Tottenham.

Erling Haaland again misses out, but in positive news, he has resumed full training this week.

Starting lineup: Stefan Ortega, Akanji, Dias (C), Gvardiol, Gomez, Lewis, Kovacic, Bobb, Foden, Grealish, Alvarez

Substitutes: Ederson, Walker, Ake, Doku, Rodrigo, De Bruyne, Nunes, Wright, Hamilton.

Huddersfield Town

Starting lineup: Nicholls, Edmonds-Green, Helik, Rudoni, Koroma, Thomas, Spencer, Matos, Wiles Jackson, Lees.

Substitutes: Bellagambi, Radulovic, Diarra, Edwards, Hudlin, Austerfield, Ayina, Stone, Iorpenda.

Tags Bernardo Silva Darren Moore Ederson Erling Haaland Etihad Stadium FA Cup Huddersfield Town Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Kalvin Phillips Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Micah Hamilton Nathan Ake Oscar Bobb Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Rodri Ruben Dias Sergio Gomez Stefan Ortega