8 Manchester City players nominated for FIFPRO World 11

Manchester City have had 8 players nominated for the FIFPRO World 11. The nominations follow on from the clubs remarkable 2022/23 campaign where they became the second English club to secure the treble. Success followed for the remainder of 2023 for Pep Guardiola’s side as they added the UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup to their trophy cabinet.

City’s 8 players nominated for the prestigious award were Ederson, Kyle Walker, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Rodri, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva and Erling Haaland. City’s captain from last season Ilkay Gundogan also saw his magnificent season last campaign rewarded with a nomination.

The FIFPRO World 11 is voted on by over 28,000 professional players each year. Once the team is announced it will consist of a goalkeeper, three defenders, three midfielders and three attackers. The final position in the lineup goes to the outfield player with the next highest amount of votes.

Manchester City having 8 players nominated recognises their exceptional 2022/23 campaign and their success in 2023. Each player nominated from the world champions played a significant role in the club’s success. It caps off what was a historical season and year for the club , one which will not be forgotten as Pep Guardiola’s side dominated English and European football creating history along the way.

The FIFPRO World 11 will be announced on the 15th of January at the FIFA Best Awards in London.

Tags Bernardo Silva Ederson Erling Haaland FIFA Club World Cup FIFPRO World 11 John Stones Kevin De Bruyne Kyle Walker Manchester City Pep Guardiola Rodri Ruben Dias Treble UEFA Super Cup