Starting lineups are in ahead of Manchester City’s clash with Sheffield United

Manchester City and Sheffield United have confirmed their starting lineups ahead of today’s Premier League clash at the Etihad.

Pep Guardiola’s side will be looking to continue their recent good form. They have won three consecutive games in all competitions following the 3-1 win over Everton. Sheffield United are in desperate need of points as they are currently bottom of the Premier League with only 9 points from 19 games.

Today’s game presents the champions with a chance to put pressure on the sides above them. A win would see City close within 2 points of league leaders Liverpool. After a poor run of results the treble winners have put themselves right back in the mix and will be eager to continue their strong recent form.

Here are the two teams starting lineups ahead of today’s match at the Etihad.

Manchester City

Pep Guardiola has made two changes to the team that beat Everton at Goodison Park. In comes Josko Gvardiol and Mateo Kovacic. Out goes Matheus Nunes and John Stones with an ankle injury. Erling Haaland and Jeremy Doku are also out due to injury for the world champions.

The big team news is Kevin De Bruyne’s return to the Manchester City squad. The Belgian hasn’t played since he suffered a hamstring injury on the opening day.

Starting lineup: Ederson, Walker (c), Akanji, Ake, Gvardiol, Rodrigo, Kovacic, Bernardo, Foden, Grealish, Alvarez.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Dias, Phillips, De Bruyne, Gomez, Nunes, Bobb, Lewis, Hamilton.

Sheffield United

Starting lineup: Foderingham, Baldock, Trusty, Thomas, Norwood, Robinson (c), Bogle, Souza, Slimane, Osula, Brooks.

Substitutes: Davies, Brewster, McBurnie, Archer, Traore, Osborn, Larouci, Norrington-Davies, Seriki.

Tags Bernardo Silva Ederson English Premier League Erling Haaland Etihad Stadium Everton Goodison Park Jack Grealish Jeremy Doku John Stones Josko Gvardiol Julian Alvarez Kalvin Phillips Kyle Walker Manchester City Manuel Akanji Mateo Kovacic Matheus Nunes Nathan Ake Pep Guardiola Phil Foden Rico Lewis Rodri Ruben Dias Sheffield United Stefan Ortega