Manchester City Opposition Watch: Bournemouth

Manchester City will look to continue their winning for this weekend with the visit of Bournemouth to the Etihad. The treble winners will come into the game off the back of consecutive Premier League wins over Brighton and Manchester United. Up next in Manchester City opposition watch is Bournemouth.

The start of this season has been a struggle for the Cherries. They currently sit 17th in the Premier League after one win in their first 10 games to begin the season. They also had a managerial change over the summer that raised eyebrows. Gary O’Neil was relieved of his duties as Bournemouth manager. Andoni Iraola was his replacement after spending three years at Rayo Vallecano.

Bournemouth did have their first win of the Premier League season last weekend. They beat Vincent Kompany’s Burnley side 2-1 at the Vitality Stadium. Goals from Antoine Semenyo and Philip Billing were enough for Iraola’s side to secure three points. Bournemouth were in Carabao Cup action during the week. They went out of the competition with a 2-1 loss to Liverpool in the fourth-round tie.

Despite their slow start to the Premier League season, the Cherries do possess weapons of their own. Striker Dominic Solanke is their main threat up front. He has scored 5 goals in all competitions so far this season. Midfielder Philip Billing also provides a good threat from midfield and will need to be watched by Pep Guardiola’s side.

Bournemouth will travel to the Etihad missing several key players. Lewis Cook is suspended for the clash with the European champions. Neto, Darren Randolph, Ryan Frederick and Emiliano Marcondes all won’t feature against City due to injury and illness.

City will be eager to continue their recent good form against the Cherries at the Etihad on Saturday.

Tags Andoni Iraola Antoine Semenyo Bournemouth Darren Randolph Dominic Solanke Emiliano Marcondes English Premier League European Champions Gary O'Neil Lewis Cook Manchester City Neto Philip Billing Ryan Frederick The Etihad Stadium Treble winners Vitality Stadium