Manchester City win back-to-back club of the year awards

Manchester City have been named the club of the year at the Ballon d’Or awards ceremony. It follows on from City winning the award last season making the treble winners back-to-back winners of the coveted award.

Last season’s treble success led Pep Guardiola’s side to being named club of the year for season 22/23. It was a historical season and the most successful in the club’s history.

City overhauled Arsenal en route to winning their third consecutive Premier League title. It was also their 5th League title in 6 seasons marking an unparalleled era of league success at the Etihad

They would also beat arch-rivals Manchester United 2-1 in the FA Cup final to seal two legs of the treble. The game will live long in City’s fans’ memories for beating their local rival. Ilkay Gundogan’s brace sealed the club’s FA Cup success. He also scored a stunning volley after 12 seconds to set City on the path to glory at Wembley.

And finally, Rodri’s rocket in the 66th minute won Manchester City their maiden UEFA Champions League crown. The 1-nil win over Inter Milan in Istanbul ended the club’s pursuit of European glory and sealed the historic treble in season 22/23.

Manchester City CEO Ferran Soriano was proud of the club being named club of the year in successive seasons. He said: “To be recognised at the Ballon d’Or for a second consecutive season is something that we as a Club are incredibly proud of. The last 12 months have seen us reach heights that have topped the success that we have consistently enjoyed.”

Being named club of the year caps off a 22/23 season that will live long in the memory of Manchester City fans and everyone connected with the club.

Tags Ballon D'or Ballon d'Or ceremony Club of the year English Premier League FA Cup FA Cup final Inter Milan Istanbul Manchester City Manchester United Pep Guardiola Premier League Champions Rodri Treble winners UEFA Champions League