Ballon d’Or awards round up as Manchester City players dominate top 10 of the prestigious award

It was a successful night for Manchester City at the Ballon d’Or awards ceremony. Manchester City had 7 players nominated in the top 30 for the Ballon d’Or. The award was ultimately won by Lionel Messi after he led Argentina to the World Cup in Qatar.

Manchester City were named club of the year for the second straight season. The award capped a remarkable season in which Manchester City completed the treble. City’s achievement solidifies their dominance of domestic and European football in recent seasons.

Erling Haaland took home the Gerd Muller Trophy on the back of his remarkable debut season at Manchester City. The award caps a remarkable 12 months for Haaland. He was also the runner-up in the Ballon d’Or to Lionel Messi. If Haaland continues his strong start to this season he will be a leading contender for the award in years to come.

Manchester City players dominated the top 10 of the prestigious individual award. Joining Haaland in the top 10 places were Kevin De Bruyne, Rodri, Julian Alvarez and Bernardo Silva. Josko Gvardiol and Ruben Dias also made it to the top 30 in the award. Former City captain Ilkay Gundogan finished 14th in the Ballon d’Or race after leading City to the treble last season.

City keeper Ederson came second in the Yashin Trophy. The award signifies the top goalkeeper from the past season for club and country. Aston Villa and Argentinean keeper Emiliano Martinez took out the award off the back of Argentina’s World Cup success in Qatar.

It was a successful night for Manchester City as their achievements of the past 12 months received the recognition they deserved.

Tags Ballon D'or Ballon d'Or ceremony Bernardo Silva Ederson Erling Haaland European Champions Ilkay Gundogan Josko Gvardiol Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City Pep Guardiola Rodri Ruben Dias Treble winners